decorative image
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
decorative image
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
seed logo

HHS Small Business Program Managers

Agencies across the federal government support small businesses through the SBIR and STTR programs. Within HHS, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Administration for Community Living (ACL), and the Advanced Research Projects Agency for Health (ARPA-H) participate in the small business programs. To learn more about each Institute and its therapeutic research areas of focus and find the best fit for your innovation, visit Navigate NIH's Research Areas. Find contact information for your Program Official or Grants Management Official below, and information on Who to Contact and When

Not sure where to start? Contact the SEED Office.

Note: Researcher-initiated ideas are proposed via the SBIR and STTR Omnibus grant solicitations. NIH, CDC, and FDA participate in the 2023 Omnibus solicitations; ACL and ARPA-H utilize other mechanisms for funding. In the chart below, the * denotes participation in the Omnibus solicitations.

NIH*

Awarding ComponentScientific/Research ContactFinancial/Grants Mgmt Contact
National Institute on Aging
http://www.nia.nih.gov
Michael-David A.R.R. Kerns
Phone: 301-402-7713
Email: niasmallbusiness@mail.nih.gov
Jessi Perez
Phone: 301-402-7739
Email: jessi.perez@nih.gov
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov
Megan Ryan
Phone: 301-443-4225
Email: mryan1@mail.nih.gov
Jeff Thurston 
Phone: 301-443-9801
Email: jeffrey.thurston@nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
http://www.niaid.nih.gov
Natalia Kruchinin
Phone: 240-669-2919
Email: natalia.kruchinin@nih.gov
Chernay Rogers 
Phone: 240-669-2992
Email: Chernay.Rogers@nih.gov
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
http://www.niams.nih.gov
Xibin Wang
Phone: 301-451-3884
Email: xibin.wang@nih.gov
Victoria Matthews
Phone: 301-594-3698
Email:victoria.matthews@nih.gov
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
http://www.nibib.nih.gov
Kari Ashmont
Phone: 301-451-4772
Email: kari.ashmont@nih.gov
James Huff
Phone: 301-451-4786
Email: james.huff@nih.gov
National Cancer Institute
http://sbir.cancer.gov
Tamar Boghosian
Email: ncisbir@mail.nih.gov
Sean Hine
Phone: 240-276-6291
Email: Sean.hine@nih.gov
Eunice Kennedy Shriver
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
http://www.nichd.nih.gov
Toyin Ajisafe
Phone: 301-827-9242
Email: toyin.ajisafe@nih.gov
Mindy Bixby
Phone: 301-402-3204
Email: mindy.bixby@nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse
https://nida.nih.gov/funding/small-business-innovation-research-sbir-technology-transfer-sttr-programs
Elena Koustova
Phone: 301-496-8768
Email: elena.koustova@nih.gov
Amy Connolly
Phone: 301-827-4457
Email: amy.connolly@nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov
Roger L. Miller
Phone: 301-402-3458
Email: roger.miller@nih.gov
Christopher P. Myers
Phone: 301-435-0713
Email: christopher.myers@nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
https://sbir.nih.gov/nidcr
Orlando Lopez
Phone: 301-402-4243
Email: orlando.lopez@nih.gov
Diana “Dede” Rutberg 
Phone: 301-594-4798
Email: diana.rutberg@nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
https://seed.nih.gov/NIDDK_small_business_programs
Daniel Gossett
Phone: 301-594-7723
Email: daniel.gossett@nih.gov
Christina Coriz
Phone: 301-594-8848
Email: christina.coriz@nih.gov
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
http://www.niehs.nih.gov
Daniel T. Shaughnessy
Phone: 984-287-3321
Email: daniel.shaughnessy@nih.gov
Aaron Nicholas
Phone: 984-287-3297
Email: aaron.nicholas@nih.gov
National Eye Institute
http://www.nei.nih.gov
Paek Lee
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: paek.lee@nei.nih.gov
Karen Robinson-Smith
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: karen.smith2@nih.gov
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
http://www.nigms.nih.gov
Eddie Billingslea
Phone: 301-451-4317
Email: eddie.billingslea@nih.gov
Alania Foster
Phone: 301-451-8255
Email: nigms_gab_sbir@nigms.nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/research/funding/sbir
Stephanie Davis
Phone: 301-496-8412
Email: nhlbi_sbir@mail.nih.gov
Andre Walker
Phone: 301-827-8061
Email: walkera@nhlbi.nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute
http://www.genome.gov
Ian Nova
Phone: 240-987-2885
Email: nhgri_smallbusiness@nih.gov  
Zephaun Harvey
Phone: 301-435-7859
Email: zephaun.harvey@nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov
Margaret C. Grabb
Phone: 301-443-3563
Email: margaret.grabb@nih.gov
Jane Lin
Phone: 301-443-2229
Email: jane.lin@nih.gov
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
http://www.nimhd.nih.gov
Michael Banyas
Phone: 301-402-1366
Email: banyasmj@nih.gov
Priscilla Grant
Phone: 301-594-8412
Email: Priscilla.Grant@nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
http://www.ninds.nih.gov
Emily Caporello 
Phone: 301-496-1779
Email: ninds_sbir@ninds.nih.gov
Chief Grants Management Officer
Email: ChiefGrantsManagementOfficer@ninds.nih.gov
National Institute of Nursing Research
http://www.ninr.nih.gov
Bill Duval
Phone: 301-435-0380
Email: bill.duval@nih.gov
Randi Freundlich
Phone: 301-594-5974
Email: randi.freundlich@nih.gov
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
https://ncats.nih.gov
Krishna “Balki” Balakrishnan
Phone: 301-827-7149
Email: balki@nih.gov
Imoni Washington
Phone: 301-435-2939
Email: imoni.washington@nih.gov
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
http://nccih.nih.gov
Emrin Horgusluoglu
Phone: 240-383-5302
Email: emrin.horgusluoglu-moloch@nih.gov
Debbie Chen
Phone: 301-594-3788
Email: debbie.chen@nih.gov
National Library of Medicine
http://www.nlm.nih.gov
Rebbecca Moen
Phone: 301-827-5717
Email: Rebbecca.moen@nih.gov
Samantha Tempchin
Phone: 301-496-4222
Email: tempchins@mail.nih.gov
Division of Program Coordination, Planning and Strategic Initiatives, Office of Research Infrastructure Programs
https://orip.nih.gov
Miguel Contreras
Phone: 301-594-4927
Email: miguel.contreras@nih.gov
Nicole Franklin
Phone: 240-276-5210
Email: nicole.franklin@nih.gov

CDC*

Scientific/Research ContactFinancial/Grants Mgmt Contact

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
https://www.cdc.gov/os/technology/innovation/sbir.htm

 

SBIR Program Manager: Office of Science, Office of Technology Innovation
Sean David Griffiths
Phone: 404-639-4641
Email: sbir@cdc.gov

Lata Kumar (Center for Global Health)
Phone: 404-639-7618
Email: LKumar@cdc.gov

Robin Soler (Center for Preparedness Response)
Phone: 770-488-5103
Email: dqx4@cdc.gov

Jayalakshmi (Jaya) Raman  (National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion)
Phone: 770-488-6511
Email: jraman@cdc.gov

Candis Hunter (National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, National Center for Environmental Health)
Phone: 770-488-1347
Email: chunter@cdc.gov

Amy Yang (National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD and TB Prevention)
Phone: 404-718-8836
Email: ayang@cdc.gov

Marcienne Wright (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health)
Phone: 770-488-4850
Email: mwright3@cdc.gov


Angie Willard (CGH, NCCDPHP, NCEZID, NCHHSTP, NCIPC, NCIRD)
Phone: 770-488-2863
Email: awillard@cdc.gov


Brownie Anderson-Rana (NCEH, NIOSH, CPR)
Phone: 770-488-2771
Email: bandersonrana@cdc.gov

FDA*

Contact
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
http://www.fda.gov
Kimberly Pendleton
Phone: 240-402-7610
Email: Kimberly.Pendleton@fda.hhs.gov

ACL

Scientific/Research ContactFinancial/Grants Mgmt Contact
Administration for Community Living (ACL)/National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR)
http://www.acl.gov
Brian Bard
Phone: 202-795-7298
Email: brian.bard@acl.hhs.gov
Renee Carruthers
Phone: 202-795-7407
Email: Renee.Carruthers@acl.hhs.gov

ARPA-H

Contact
Advanced Research Projects Agency for Health (ARPA-H)
https://arpa-h.gov/
Jenica Patterson
Email: sbir@arpa-h.gov

*Participates in the Omnibus solicitations