decorative image
Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
decorative image
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
seed logo

HHS Small Business Program Managers

Agencies across the federal government support small businesses through the SBIR and STTR programs. Within HHS, the National Institutes of Health (NIH),  Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and the Administration for Community Living (ACL) participate in the small business programs. To learn more about each Institute and its therapeutic research areas of focus and find the best fit for your innovation on Navigate NIH's Research Areas. Find contact information for your Program Official or Grants Management Official below, and information on Who to Contact and When

Not sure where to start? Contact the SEED Office.

NIH

Awarding Component Scientific/Research Contact Financial/Grants Mgmt Contact
National Institute on Aging
http://www.nia.nih.gov
Michael-David A.R.R. Kerns
Phone: 301-402-7713
Email: niasmallbusiness@mail.nih.gov
Jessi Perez
Phone: 301-402-7739
Email: jessi.perez@nih.gov
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov
Jenica Patterson
Phone: 301-827-6166
Email: jenica.patterson@nih.gov
Jeff Thurston 
Phone: 301-443-9801
Email: jeffrey.thurston@nih.gov
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
http://www.niaid.nih.gov
Natalia Kruchinin
Phone: 240-669-2919
Email: natalia.kruchinin@nih.gov

Jason Lundgren
Phone: 240-669-2973
Email: jason.lundgren@nih.gov

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
http://www.niams.nih.gov
Xibin Wang
Phone: 301-451-3884
Email: xibin.wang@nih.gov
Victoria Matthews
Phone: 301-594-3698
Email:victoria.matthews@nih.gov
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
http://www.nibib.nih.gov
Kari Ashmont
Phone: 301-451-4772
Email: kari.ashmont@nih.gov
James Huff
Phone: 301-451-4786
Email: james.huff@nih.gov
National Cancer Institute
http://sbir.cancer.gov
Tamar Boghosian
Email: ncisbir@mail.nih.gov
Shane Woodward
Phone: 240-276-6303
Email: Shane.Woodward@nih.gov
Eunice Kennedy Shriver
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
http://www.nichd.nih.gov
Toyin Ajisafe
Phone: 301-827-9242
Email: toyin.ajisafe@nih.gov
Mindy Bixby
Phone: 301-402-3204
Email: mindy.bixby@nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse
https://nida.nih.gov/funding/small-business-innovation-research-sbir-technology-transfer-sttr-programs
Elena Koustova
Phone: 301-496-8768
Email: elena.koustova@nih.gov
Amy Connolly
Phone: 301-827-4457
Email: amy.connolly@nih.gov
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
http://www.nidcd.nih.gov
Roger L. Miller
Phone: 301-402-3458
Email: roger.miller@nih.gov
Christopher P. Myers
Phone: 301-435-0713
Email: christopher.myers@nih.gov
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
https://sbir.nih.gov/nidcr
Orlando Lopez
Phone: 301-402-4243
Email: orlando.lopez@nih.gov
Diana “Dede” Rutberg 
Phone: 301-594-4798
Email: diana.rutberg@nih.gov
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
https://seed.nih.gov/NIDDK_small_business_programs
Daniel Gossett
Phone: 301-594-7723
Email: daniel.gossett@nih.gov
Pamela Love
Phone: 301-435-6198
Email: pamela.love@nih.gov
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
http://www.niehs.nih.gov
Daniel T. Shaughnessy
Phone: 984-287-3321
Email: daniel.shaughnessy@nih.gov
Aaron Nicholas
Phone: 984-287-3297
Email: aaron.nicholas@nih.gov
National Eye Institute
http://www.nei.nih.gov
Paekgyu Lee
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: paek.lee@nei.nih.gov
Karen Robinson-Smith
Phone: 301-451-2020
Email: karen.smith2@nih.gov
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
http://www.nigms.nih.gov
Dmitriy Krepkiy
Phone: 301-435-0752
Email: dmitriy.krepkiy@nih.gov
Brian Iglesias
Phone: 301-451-5903
Email: brian.iglesias@nih.gov
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/research/funding/sbir
Stephanie Davis
Phone: 301-496-8412
Email: nhlbi_sbir@mail.nih.gov
Ann Marie Brasile Mejac
Phone: 301-827-8016
Email: ann.mejac@nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute
http://www.genome.gov
Michael W. Smith
Phone: 301-496-7531
Email: michael.smith@nih.gov
Zephaun Harvey
Phone: 301-435-7859
Email: zephaun.harvey@nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov
Margaret C. Grabb
Phone: 301-443-3563
Email: margaret.grabb@nih.gov
Jane Lin
Phone: 301-443-2229
Email: jane.lin@nih.gov
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
http://www.nimhd.nih.gov
Michael Banyas
Phone: 301-402-1366
Email: banyasmj@nih.gov
Priscilla Grant
Phone: 301-594-8412
Email: Priscilla.Grant@nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
http://www.ninds.nih.gov
Emily Caporello 
Phone: 301-496-1779
Email: emily.caporello@nih.gov
Chief Grants Management Officer
Email: ChiefGrantsManagementOfficer@ninds.nih.gov
National Institute of Nursing Research
http://www.ninr.nih.gov
Kristopher Bough
Phone: 301-337-1372
Email: kristopher.bough@nih.gov
Randi Freundlich
Phone: 301-594-5974
Email: randi.freundlich@nih.gov
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
https://ncats.nih.gov
Lili M. Portilla
Phone: 301-827-7170
Email: lili.portilla@nih.gov
Imoni Washington
Phone: 301-435-2939
Email: imoni.washington@nih.gov
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
http://nccih.nih.gov
Emrin Horgusluoglu
Phone: 240-383-5302
Email: emrin.horgusluoglu-moloch@nih.gov
Debbie Chen
Phone: 301-594-3788
Email: debbie.chen@nih.gov
National Library of Medicine
http://www.nlm.nih.gov
Allison Dennis
Phone: 301-827-9721
Email: Allison.Dennis@nih.gov
Samantha Tempchin
Phone: 301-496-4222
Email: tempchins@mail.nih.gov
Division of Program Coordination, Planning and Strategic Initiatives, Office of Research Infrastructure Programs
https://orip.nih.gov
Miguel Contreras
Phone: 301-594-4927
Email: miguel.contreras@nih.gov
Nicole Franklin
Phone: 240-276-5210
Email: nicole.franklin@nih.gov

CDC

Awarding Component Scientific/Research Contact Financial/Grants Mgmt Contact
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
https://www.cdc.gov/os/technology/innovation/sbir.htm

SBIR Program Manager: Office of Science, Office of Technology Innovation
Sean David Griffiths
Phone: 404-639-4641
Email: sbir@cdc.gov

Lata Kumar (Center for Global Health)
Phone: 404-639-7618
Email: LKumar@cdc.gov

Robin Soler (Center for Preparedness Response)
Phone: 770-488-5103
Email: dqx4@cdc.gov

Nosrat (Nassi) Irannejad (National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion)
Phone: 770-488-6124
Email: nirannejad@cdc.gov

Marcienne Wright (National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, National Center for Environmental Health)
Phone: 770-488-4850
Email: mwright3@cdc.gov

Christine J. Morrison (National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD and TB Prevention)
Phone: 404-718-8845
Email: cmorrison@cdc.gov

Steve Dearwent (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health)
Phone: 404-498-6382
Email: sdearwent@cdc.gov 


Angie Willard (CGH, NCCDPHP, NCEZID, NCHHSTP, NCIPC, NCIRD)
Phone: 770-488-2863
Email: AWillard@cdc.gov


Barbara (Rene’) Benyard (NCBDDD, NCEH, NIOSH, CPR)
Phone: 770-488-2757
Email: BBenyard@cdc.gov

ACL

Awarding Component Scientific/Research Contact Financial/Grants Mgmt Contact
Administration for Community Living (ACL)/National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR)
http://www.acl.gov
Brian Bard
Phone: 202-795-7298
Email: brian.bard@acl.hhs.gov
Renee Carruthers
Phone: 202-795-7407
Email: Renee.Carruthers@acl.hhs.gov

FDA

Awarding Component Scientific/Research Contact Financial/Grants Mgmt Contact
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
http://www.fda.gov
Kiara Fowler
Phone: 240-402-3099
Email: kiara.fowler@fda.hhs.gov
Kiara Fowler 
Phone: 240-402-3099
Email: kiara.fowler@fda.hhs.gov